Investment Committee

Renewable Energy


Marco van Daele

Marco van Daele is responsible for investment proposals of Sustainable SARL. Marco van Daele is an experienced investment and M&A professional in the infrastructure, power (including renewable energy) and utilities space. He joined SUSI from Brookfield, a global real asset investor with over US$250bn of assets under management, where he was a Senior Vice President responsible for the European Renewable Energy Investments Team based in London. As part of the European Renewables Leadership Team, he led the strategy formulation, origination and execution of investments in the renewable energy and power space. Prior to that, Marco van Daele was a Principal in the Infrastructure team at Arcapita, a global alternative assets firm, managing around $3bn of investments in the infrastructure and energy space. He holds a Master’s degree in International Business Studies from Maastricht University.

Joris van der Geest

Joris van der Geest was the CIO of Triodos Investment Management’s Ampere Equity Fund. Heading the investment team, he was responsible for new transactions and the management of the investment portfolio. As such, he has been responsible for the Fund’s investments in wind and solar PV in the Netherlands, in Germany, in the UK, in France, in Italy and in Spain. Among others he executed the co-investment in the 367 MW Walney Offshore wind farm and the 46 MW Carraig Gheal Onshore wind farm transactions. Prior to this function, Joris worked for 9 years with NIBC corporate finance where he gained extensive experience in arranging and structuring syndicated loans and lease structures for international energy projects and had advisory mandates for international utilities.

Peter Schwer

Peter Schwer holds a Master Degree in Engineering from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) and is founder and owner of New Energy Scout Ltd, an engineering and consulting firm specialized in wind, solar and biomass energy. He has worked for more than 10 years in the renewable energy industry (e.g. international project leader for wind farms, Head Foreign Markets for German developer, etc.) and was involved in the development of more than 500 MW in wind power. Peter Schwer supports Sustainable SARL in both market and project due diligence (focus wind) and is a member of the SUSI Sustainable Euro Fund’s investment committee.

Energy Efficiency


Marco van Daele

Marco van Daele is responsible for investment proposals of Sustainable SARL. Marco van Daele is an experienced investment and M&A professional in the infrastructure, power (including renewable energy) and utilities space. He joined SUSI from Brookfield, a global real asset investor with over US$250bn of assets under management, where he was a Senior Vice President responsible for the European Renewable Energy Investments Team based in London. As part of the European Renewables Leadership Team, he led the strategy formulation, origination and execution of investments in the renewable energy and power space. Prior to that, Marco van Daele was a Principal in the Infrastructure team at Arcapita, a global alternative assets firm, managing around $3bn of investments in the infrastructure and energy space. He holds a Master’s degree in International Business Studies from Maastricht University.

Kostas Nikolopoulos

To Kostas Nikolopoulos curriculum belong positions like Head of Middle East und Africa (MEA) for Climate Change Capital and its CCC Private Equity funds, Principal Investor and Project Finance specialist in large Energy & Infra transactions and Corporate Finance Lawyer. He Holds an BBA and LLB as well as a MA in Finance from JHU, Washington DC. As Track Record Kostas Nikolopoulos can take into account the analysis of more than 50 energy efficiency investments (volume EUR 150M) and more than 7 years in Environmental Infrastructure Finance. He invested three generations of the Emerging Markets Environmental Private Equity Funds of Climate Change Capital (AuM $1.2Bn.), closed renewable energy-, energy-efficiency-, Clean Tech- and Carbon Finance-transactions in Asia and MEA worth EUR 1.2Bn (average project-IRR >10%) and has long term experience with structuring complex infrastructure investments.

Bernard Jamet

As former Head of Climate Change Technology Transfer at United Nations Environment Program (UNEP), Director with the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) and initiator of the “EBRD Energy Efficiency Team”, Co-Founder of SINERG (EPCs and financing for energy efficiency investments) and Head of Department with the French Agency for Energy Conservation, Bernard Jamet can has more than 30 years experience with energy efficiency investments. He is an expert in financial as well as technical aspects of energy efficiency measures and was responsible for energy efficiency projects contracted by the EBRD worth EUR 1Bn. He was also responsible for the launch of the first investment fund focusing on energy efficiency investments in the public-private field (EUR 75M fund, focusing on Eastern Europe) as well as the successful investments with this fund.

Rhea Hamilton

Rhea Hamilton is the Ventures Director of OGCI Climate Investments. Previously, she was a Managing Director for a European family office heading private equity/venture capital direct investments in clean technology and renewable energy. Prior to this, she was an Investment Director at RobecoSAM Private Equity, formerly part of the greater Rabobank Group. Rhea started her career with Royal Dutch Shell, where she held various positions including CFO of Shell Hydrogen. She holds a Geological/Geophysics Engineering degree from the University of British Columbia, Canada, and an MBA from IESE in Barcelona, Spain.

Energy Storage


Marco van Daele

Marco van Daele is responsible for investment proposals of Sustainable SARL. Marco van Daele is an experienced investment and M&A professional in the infrastructure, power (including renewable energy) and utilities space. He joined SUSI from Brookfield, a global real asset investor with over US$250bn of assets under management, where he was a Senior Vice President responsible for the European Renewable Energy Investments Team based in London. As part of the European Renewables Leadership Team, he led the strategy formulation, origination and execution of investments in the renewable energy and power space. Prior to that, Marco van Daele was a Principal in the Infrastructure team at Arcapita, a global alternative assets firm, managing around $3bn of investments in the infrastructure and energy space. He holds a Master’s degree in International Business Studies from Maastricht University.

Joe Mangion

In 2013, Joe Mangion was mandated by the Board of Leclanche SA, a Swiss listed energy storage company to assist the company with its turnaround programme. He sourced and led the rescue financing of a CHF 17m convertible loan and was appointed Chief Executive once this financing was committed. As CEO, together with his senior management team, he developed a new strategic business plan, including a three-year product road and technology road map, renegotiated a number of procurement and service contracts, initiated production at the company’s state of the art factory in Germany, secured the first pilot orders and initiated commercial discussions around new applications to expand the company’s industrial and market reach. He handed over to the current Chief Executive in May 2014 by which time he had increased the market capitalisation of the company five-fold from CHF 20 million to over CHF 100 million, outperforming the SIX by 34%.

Jeannine Sargent

Jeannine Sargent is President of Innovation and New Ventures at Flex, an organisation with more than 200’000 employees that designs and builds technologies to original equipment manufacturers, being the second largest global electrocnics manufacturing services company by revenue and an innovator in the development of battery-powered technologies (eg. battery management system). Jeannine has over 25 years experience across several high growth industries including energy storage and has previously held two CEO posts, inclusive of Oerlikon Solar, a solar PV company. Jeannine has experience in industry and asset management with over 25 years of experience in the US.

Aris Karcanias

Aris Karcanias is a Senior Managing Director at FTI’s Economics and Financial Consulting Practice and is the co-lead for the global clean energy practice. Before joining FTI, Aris led the consulting component of Navigant’s BTM Consult where he conducted extensive technical, market, and economic analyses of clean energy systems. He has more than a decade of consulting experience in the clean energy sector with a focus on renewables and in particular the wind, solar, and energy storage industries. Earlier in his career, Aris worked for Ernst & Young, and the University of Cambridge Engineering Department. He has a strong technical engineering background with extensive experience in renewable energy technologies, regulation, project economics and financial structures, technology commercialisation and development roadmaps and supply chains.

Investment Committee

Erneuerbare Energie


Marco van Daele

Marco van Daele verantwortet die Investitionsempfehlungen von Sustainable SARL. Er verfügt über langjährige Investitions- und M&A-Erfahrung in den Sektoren Infrastruktur, Erneuerbare Energien und Versorgungsunternehmen. Vor seinem Eintritt bei SUSI war er bei Brookfield, einem global agierenden Infrastrukturinvestor mit über 250 Milliarden US-Dollar verwaltetem Vermögen, in London tätig, als Senior Vice President im europäischen Renewable Energy-Team verantwortlich für die Strategieformulierung sowie die Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Investitionen im europäischen Erneuerbare Energie- und Stromsektor. Vor seiner Zeit bei Brookfield begleitete Marco van Daele als Principal im Infrastrukturteam bei Arcapita Transaktionen im Umfang von drei Milliarden US-Dollar begleitete. Er hält einen Master in International Business von der Universität Maastricht.

Joris van der Geest

Joris van der Geest ist ehemaliger CIO vom Ampere Equity Fund, aufgelegt von Triodos Investment Management. Als Leiter des Investment Teams war er verantwortlich für alle Investitionen, Transaktionen und der Verwaltung des Investment Portfolios. Herr van der Geest leitete die Wind und Solar Investitionen in den Niederlanden, Deutschland, England, Frankreich, Italien sowie Spanien. Herr van der Geest war u.a. verantwortlich für den Ankauf der Beteiligung am 367 MW Offshore Windprojekt, Walney, und des 46 MW Onshore Windprojekt, Carraig Gheal. Zuvor war Herr van der Geest neun Jahre bei NIBC im Corporate Finance Team zuständig für Syndicated Loans und Lease Structures von Energie Infrastruktur Projekten, und Berater von internationalen Energieunternehmen.

Peter Schwer

Peter Schwer hält einen Master-Titel der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule (ETH) und ist Gründer und Inhaber der New Energy Scout GmbH, einer Ingenieur- und Beratungsfirma spezialisiert auf Wind-, Biogas- und Solarenergie. Er ist seit 10 Jahren im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien tätig (u.a. int.Windkraftprojekte mit gesamthaft mehr als 500 MW, Auslandsprojektverantwortlicher für ein dt. Windkraftunternehmen) und berät Energieversorger bei Projektakquisitionen. Peter Schwer berät SUSI in der Projekt- und Marktauswahl (Fokus Wind) und ist Mitglied im Investment Committee des SUSI Sustainable Euro Funds.

Energieeffizienz


Marco van Daele

Marco van Daele verantwortet die Investitionsempfehlungen von Sustainable SARL. Er verfügt über langjährige Investitions- und M&A-Erfahrung in den Sektoren Infrastruktur, Erneuerbare Energien und Versorgungsunternehmen. Vor seinem Eintritt bei SUSI war er bei Brookfield, einem global agierenden Infrastrukturinvestor mit über 250 Milliarden US-Dollar verwaltetem Vermögen, in London tätig, als Senior Vice President im europäischen Renewable Energy-Team verantwortlich für die Strategieformulierung sowie die Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Investitionen im europäischen Erneuerbare Energie- und Stromsektor. Vor seiner Zeit bei Brookfield begleitete Marco van Daele als Principal im Infrastrukturteam bei Arcapita Transaktionen im Umfang von drei Milliarden US-Dollar begleitete. Er hält einen Master in International Business von der Universität Maastricht.

Kostas Nikolopoulos

Zu Kostas Nikolopoulos Werdegang gehören Positionen wie Head of Middle East und Africa (MEA) für Climate Change Capital und den CCC Private Equity Fonds, Hauptinvestor und Project Finance Spezialist in grossen Energie- und Infrastruktur-Transaktionen sowie Corporate Finance Anwalt. Er hält einen BBA und LLB sowie einen MA Finance der JHU, Washington DC. Als Track Record kann Kostas Nikolopoulos die Analyse von mehr als 50 Energie-Effizienz-Investitionen (Volumen EUR 150 Mio.) und mehr als sieben Jahre Erfahrung in Environmental Infrastructure Finance ausweisen. Er investierte drei Generationen von Emerging Markets Environmental Private Equity Funds bei Climate Change Capital (AuM USD 1.2 Mrd.; ausschliesslich institutionelle Investoren), hat erneuerbare Energien-, Energieeffizienz-, Clean Tech- und Carbon Finance-Transaktionen in Asien im Umfang von EUR 1.2 Mrd. abgeschlossen (durchschnittlicher IRR >10%) und besitzt langjährige Erfahrung in der Strukturierung komplexer Infrastrukturfinanzierungen.

Bernard Jamet

Als Leiter des „Climate Change Technology Transfer“ beim Umwelt Programm der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP), Direktor der Europäischen Bank für Wiederaufbau und Entwicklung (EBRD) und Initiator des EBRD Energy Efficiency Team, Mitgründer von SINERG (Energieeinspar-Contracting und Fremdfinanzierung für Investitionen in Energieeffizienz) und Leiter der Abteilung für Energieeffizienz des französischen Energieministeriums kann Bernard Jamet mehr als 30 Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich der Finanzierung von Energieeffizienzprojekten vorweisen. Er ist Experte sowohl für finanzielle wie auch technische Aspekte bei Energieeffizienzsanierungen und im Auftrag der EBRD Projekte im Umfang von über EUR 1 Mrd. betreut. Er war verantwortlich für die Lancierung des ersten auf Energieeffizienzinvestitionen fokussierten öffentlich-privaten Investitionsfonds der Welt (EUR 75 Mio. Fonds mit Fokus auf Osteuropa), ebenso für dessen erfolgreiche Investition (IRR >8%).

Rhea Hamilton

Rhea Hamilton ist Venture Director von OGCI Climate Investments. Davor war sie Managing Director für ein europäisches Family Office, wo sie die Private Equity / Venture Capital-Investitionen in Cleantech und Erneuerbare Energie leitete. Zuvor war sie Investment Director bei RobecoSAM Private Equity, ehemals Teil der Rabobank-Gruppe. Rhea begann ihre Karriere bei Royal Dutch Shell, wo sie verschiedene Positionen bekleidete, darunter CFO von Shell Hydrogen. Sie hält einen Abschluss in Geologie / Geophysik von der Universität von British Columbia, Kanada, und einen MBA von IESE in Barcelona, Spanien.

Energiespeicherung


Marco van Daele

Marco van Daele verantwortet die Investitionsempfehlungen von Sustainable SARL. Er verfügt über langjährige Investitions- und M&A-Erfahrung in den Sektoren Infrastruktur, Erneuerbare Energien und Versorgungsunternehmen. Vor seinem Eintritt bei SUSI war er bei Brookfield, einem global agierenden Infrastrukturinvestor mit über 250 Milliarden US-Dollar verwaltetem Vermögen, in London tätig, als Senior Vice President im europäischen Renewable Energy-Team verantwortlich für die Strategieformulierung sowie die Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Investitionen im europäischen Erneuerbare Energie- und Stromsektor. Vor seiner Zeit bei Brookfield begleitete Marco van Daele als Principal im Infrastrukturteam bei Arcapita Transaktionen im Umfang von drei Milliarden US-Dollar begleitete. Er hält einen Master in International Business von der Universität Maastricht.

Joe Mangion

Joe Mangion ist ein Senior Manager und zuletzt Mitgründer von Talisman Partners LLP, einer Unternehmensberatung und Interim Management Organisation. Zuvor hat er in der Finanzindustrie, im Bereich des Asset Managements und im Finanzberatungssektor wertvolle Erfahrung gesammelt und über USD 10 Mrd. von M&A- und Kapitalmarkttransaktionen ausgeführt, vorwiegend in Europa, Israel und den USA. Joe besitzt sachrelevante Kenntnisse des Energiespeichersektors und war unter anderem CEO bei LeClanché, einem Schweizer Lithium-Ionen-Batterie Hersteller, wo er im Auftrag eines Private Equity Fonds erfolgreich einen Turn-Around geführt hat.

Jeannine Sargent

Jeannine Sargent ist Geschäftsführerin von Flex, einem Unternehmen mit über 200’000 Mitarbeitern, welches Technologien designt und produziert. Flex ist weltweit die zweitgrösste Produktionsgesellschaft von Elektroniktechnologie und ein führender Innovator in der Entwicklung von Batterie angetriebener Einrichtung (z.B. Batterie Management Systeme). Jeannine hat über 25 Jahre relevanter Arbeitserfahrung, inklusive im Sektor vom Energiespeicher, und hat zuvor bereits zwei CEO Positionen gehalten (z.B. bei Oerlikon Solar).

Aris Karcanias

Aris Karcanias ist Senior Managing Director bei FTI’s Economics and Financial Consulting Practice und ist da der Co-Lead für die globale Clean Energy Abteilung. Vor seiner Zeit bei FTI, führte Aris die Beratungskomponente von Navigants BTM Consult, wo er umfangreiche technische sowie Marktanalysen von sauberen Energiesystemen durchführte. Er hat mehr als ein Jahrzehnt Beratungserfahrung im Bereich erneuerbare Energien, insbesondere in Wind-, Solar- und Energiespeicherung. Zu Beginn seiner Karriere arbeitete Aris für Ernst & Young und das Engineering Department der University of Cambridge, und hat somit einen starken technischen Hintergrund mit umfangreicher Erfahrung in der Regulierung, Projektökonomie und Finanzstrukturierung von Energieanlagen.